Final Project #1- Final Teaching

Final Teaching

For my Art of Teaching Children Music class I had to do a final teaching where I got the choice to teach what I wished to. I had not gotten the chance to teach a lesson on Orff instruments. I really wanted to get some experience doing this, so that is what I chose to do my lesson on. Here is my lesson plan for the lesson:

Final Project 1 Lesson Plan

Name: Adam Peterson

Date: 12-3-15

Intended Grade: 3rd Grade

New Music Concept/Objective:
-The students will be able to sing the song “Swing Low Sweet Chariot” while playing instrument parts in an ensemble.”

“I Can…” Statements:
-I can sing the song “Swing Low Sweet Chariot”.
-I can do specific motions that go along with “Swing low Sweet Chariot” while singing the song.
-I can transfer these motions to playing instrument parts.
-I can play instrument parts that go along with “Swing Low Sweet Chariot” in an ensemble while singing the song.

Materials Needed:
-“Swing Low Sweet Chariot”
-bass metallophones
-bass xylophones
-alto metallophones
-alto xylophones
(-soprano xylophones)
-glockenspiels
-maracas
(-other unpitched percussion)
-a pair of mallets for each bar instrument

Procedure:
-have the students all sit facing me
-“We are going to learn a new song today.”
-sing for them and have them all listen to the song
-echo the ends of the lines “coming for to carry me home” from both lines one and two
-“What is different between those two lines?”à one is higher and one is lower
-“Which one is higher?” à 1; and lower à 2
-“Join me on the ‘coming for to carry me home’s this time.”
-sing the song motioning when it just me and when they should join in
-“Now listen the beginnings of the lines and see if you can figure out what is different between the two.”
-sing “low sweet chariot” of both lines and hold up 1 and 2 to show the different lines
-“What is different between the two?” à 1 starts lower than 2
-“Can you echo me on those now?” à echo the “low sweet chariots”
-go straight into echoing the whole lines without the “swings” but make it very obvious with visual cues that they will be longer lines of echoing
-“Now this time I am going to sing the song, and please join me on everything you know.”
-sing the song with them joining on all but the “swings” and motion to show them when they should be singing
-“Do you think you can join me on the swings now? … Let’s do it! Whole thing together.”
-sing the whole thing together
-“This song has some really important history behind it. Back in the 1800’s, a very long time ago, there used to be slaves in the Southern part of this country. There were some very good people who would help them escape slavery and get freedom. They did this through something called the ‘Underground Railroad’. The ‘Underground Railroad’ was not really a railroad and it wasn’t really underground, but it was groups of people who would help secretly sneak slaves out of slavery in the South and take them to freedom in the North.”
-“So they would find ‘Free-dom up North’.” à say it and do the motions
-“Can everyone do that with me saying the words and doing the motions?”
-do it all together a few times and help them get the hang of it
-“The ‘Underground Railroad’ would take them up to the Northern states and sometimes all the way up to Canada.” à clap say in rhythm on “up to Canada”
-“The slaves escaping would usually travel in the night when it was dark, and they would travel whenever they could, even if there was rain, thunder, lightening, and wind. Can you all make wind sounds?” à make a wind sound and swipe the hand in the motion they will have to
-“‘Sweet Chariot’ was a code that the slaves would use to refer to the Underground Railroad, so they would sing this song, singing and hoping for people from the Underground Railroad to come and take them to freedom. This song was a song of hope.” à do the motion for hope, and then have them do that motion too while saying hope
-“Keep doing that pat and keep saying hope while I sing our song.” à do this
-“Now try singing the song and doing the ‘hope’ pats with me.” à do this
-“Let’s go back to the ‘Free-dom up North’ pattern. … Now continue saying and doing this as I sing the song.” à do this
-“Now try doing the pattern and singing with me.” à just have them continue with the patting and bring them in
-“Let’s mix the two together now.”
-cut the class in half and have half do the “hope” pats and half do the “Free-dom up North” pattern
-get them started doing this and then bring them in on singing
-“Now remember the wind?”à show them the sound and motion
-have them do this and then continue doing it as I sing the song
-then have them do it all together and guide them carefully to make sure it falls on beat 2
-then split them into three groups and have one do the “hope” pats, one do the “Free-dom up North” pattern, and one do the wind sounds and swipe
-have them get started and then bring everyone in on the singing and go around helping out different parts (especially the wind sounds people)
-then have them do back to the “up to Ca-na-da” clapping
-have them do this and then continue doing it as I sing the song
-then have them do it all together
-then split them into four groups and have one do the “hope” pats, one do the “Free-dom up North” pattern, one do the wind sounds and swipe, and one do the “up to Ca-na-da” claps
-have them get started and then bring everyone in on the singing and go around helping out different parts
-“Those of you who are doing the ‘hope’ pats please go to a bass xylophone or bass metallophone. Those of you doing the ‘Free-dom up North’ pattern please go to an alto xylophone, or an alto metallophone(, or a soprano xylophone). Those of you doing the wind swipes please go to a glockenspiel, and those of you doing the ‘up to Ca-na-da’ claps please get a maraca (or another unpitched percussion instrument). People on bar instruments please do not use your mallets yet.”
-go over to the people on the “hope” part and explain to them to line up their left hand on D and their right hand on A à have them just pat
-then to the “Free-dom up North” people and explain that the left hand will always be on D and the right hand will switch off between F# and A, starting on F# à just patting
-then the wind sounds people and have them do the swoosh across the instrument going to the right (up) just with their finger tips
-then to the “up to Ca-na-da” peopleà have them do it on the maracas (or other unpitched percussion)
-stop everyone
-“Okay, we all know our parts, so now let’s put it all together with singing. I will start the ‘hope’ people, then the ‘Free-dom up North’ people, then the wind swipe people, and then the ‘up to Ca-na-da’ people and then I will being us all in on singing. After we finish the song keep playing your parts and I will come around and cut off the groups in backwards order. People on bar instruments keep it without mallets for now.” à do all this
-“Now people with bar instruments pick up your mallets and show me how to hold mallets perfectly. … Now every time you patted on the instrument you are going to play that note with your mallets. People doing the wind sounds take one mallet in your right hand and swipe it across the instrument like you did with your hand. People on the ‘up to Ca-na-da’ part you know what to do. Everyone go ahead and practice this.”
-go over to the glockenspiel people and help them out with how to do the glissando; then walk around and see if anyone else needs help
-stop everyone
-“Let’s put this all together now. I will bring the groups in one by one the same way, and then the singing, and then cut the groups off afterwards one by one the same way.”
-put the entire experience together

Assessment:
-I will be watching and listening to the students throughout to see if they are understanding the movements, words, singing, and relation of the movements to the instrument parts. If anyone seems to not understand any of these aspects then I would repeat or reiterate in some way how a certain step or concept works. I have also set up various parts within the lesson where I will be working with smaller groups of students so I can more easily provide individual help and attention as it is needed.

I felt very happy about how my lesson went, but there were some challenges with recording this lesson. My phone ran out of memory, as did my professor’s when we were recording my lesson, so we caught different segments of my lesson on different devices. These issues happen with technology, and that is just simply real life. I have a few different videos with different parts of my teaching for this reason. Here are the videos: 

Leave a Reply

