Unit Plan: Three Related Lesson Plans

Unit Plan: Three Related Lesson Plans

For my Art of Teaching Children Music class we had to make three related lesson plans to make a sort of coherent unit plan idea. We could focus them toward any one age group and relate them to each other in a number of ways, and I chose to focus mine toward kindergarten and connect them conceptually. I did three rhythm icon lessons that all follow the same structure and help the students relate many different words to how to form and conceptualize rhythms. 

Here is the first one using the song “Ida Red”:

Rhythm Icons Lesson- “Ida Red”

Name: Adam Peterson

Date: 10-15-15

New Music Concept/Objective: The students will be able to read the rhythm icons on the flash cards and follow the rhythms that are notated through the icon notation.

“I Can…” Statements:
-I can sing the song “Ida Red”.
-I can read the rhythm icons on the flash cards.
-I can follow the rhythms that the icons show on the flash cards.

Materials Needed:
-song “Ida Red”
-4 flash cards

Procedure:
-get students into circle (sitting)
-listen for what we are going to go get in this song
-sing the poem
-turn to your neighbors and whisper what we were going to go get
-call on someone to answer (a letter… maybe even “one a week”)
-let’s pat a beat on our laps (give the eighth note the beat in order to make this activity work)
-sing it and have them listen to it again this time but with keeping a steady beat in patting
-now keep this beat going, we are going to do some echoing
(throughout this part sing parts of them poem and have them echo to teach it, be very clear with when they should wait and when they should come in)
-down the road and across the creek
-can’t get a letter but once a week
-ida red, ida blue
-I got stuck on Ida too
-down the road and across the creek, can’t get a letter but once a week
-ida red, ida blue, I got stuck on Ida too
-down the road and across the creek, can’t get a letter but once a week, ida red, ida blue, I got stuck on Ida too (whole thing)
-now that you know the whole thing let’s sing it together and keep a nice steady beat on our laps
-look at what I change
-sing it with doing the rhythm instead of the beat (continue to give the eighth notes the beat of this activity)
-what did I do differently? Turn to your neighbors and talk about what I did differently that time
-discuss and come to that I patted differently and that my patting and stuff followed the words of the song, which means I was patting the rhythm of the song
-invite them to pat the rhythm with me now, just follow what I do
-do it together patting the rhythm, repeat for success if needed
-then bring out the flash cards
-hold up the four cards colored red and get to conclusion that it is red-red-red-red
-then red-red-ida-red (Ida has person on it and explain that Ida is the name of a person)
-Ida-Ida-red-red
-red-rest-Ida-red
-then flash the cards through and have them read the icons, and in essence, read the rhythms
-then try going through with doing the patting/clapping pattern we used earlier in the lesson (say and clap)
-then whisper it and clap
-then think and clap

Assessment: I will assess the class by observing them during the rhythm icons flash card reading to see if they are able to follow the rhythm that is notated through the icons on the flash cards. I will also assess them through having them whisper and discuss to their neighbors when finding answers to see if they are participating and understanding the material we are working on.

 

Here is my second one using the song “Doggie, Doggie”:

Rhythm Icons Lesson- “Doggie Doggie”

Name: Adam Peterson

Date: 10-15-15

New Music Concept/Objective: The students will be able to read the rhythm icons on the flash cards and follow the rhythms that are notated through the icon notation.

“I Can…” Statements:
-I can sing the song “Doggie, Doggie”.
-I can read the rhythm icons on the flash cards.
-I can follow the rhythms that the icons show on the flash cards.

Materials Needed:
-stuffed animal dog
-song
-4 flash cards

Procedure:
-get students into circle (sitting)
-listen for what happened to the doggie’s bone
-sing the poem
-turn to your neighbors and whisper what happened to the doggie’s bone
-call on someone to answer (it was stolen)
-pull out dog! J
-let’s pat a beat on our laps
-sing it and have them listen to it again this time but with keeping a steady beat in patting
-now keep this beat going, we are going to do some echoing
(throughout this part sing parts of them poem and have them echo to teach it, be very clear with when they should wait and when they should come in)
-doggie doggie where’s your bone
-someone stole it from my home
-who stole the bone
-I stole the bone
-doggie doggie where’s your bone, someone stole it from my home
-who stole the bone, I stole the bone
-doggie doggie where’s your bone, someone stole it from my home, who stole the bone, I stole the bone (whole thing)
-now that you know the whole thing let’s sing it together and keep a nice steady beat on our laps
-look at what I change
-sing it with doing the rhythm instead of the beat
-what did I do differently? Turn to your neighbors and talk about what I did differently that time
-discuss and come to that I patted differently and that my patting and stuff followed the words of the song, which means I was patting the rhythm of the song
-invite them to pat the rhythm with me now, just follow what I do
-do it together patting the rhythm, repeat for success if needed
-then bring out the flash cards
-hold up the four bones card and get to conclusion that it is bone-bone-bone-bone
-then bone-bone-doggie-bone
-rest-doggie-doggie-bone
-doggie-bone-doggie-bone
-then flash the cards through and have them read the icons, and in essence, read the rhythms
-then try going through with doing the patting/clapping pattern we used earlier in the lesson (say and clap)
-then whisper it and clap
-then think and clap

Assessment: I will assess the class by observing them during the rhythm icons flash card reading to see if they are able to follow the rhythm that is notated through the icons on the flash cards. I will also assess them through having them whisper and discuss to their neighbors when finding answers to see if they are participating and understanding the material we are working on.

 

For my last one  wrote my own little song that I call “Pumpkin Bear”: 

Rhythm Icons Lesson- “Pumpkin Bear”

Name: Adam Peterson

Date: 10-15-15

New Music Concept/Objective: The students will be able to read the rhythm icons on the flash cards and follow the rhythms that are notated through the icon notation.

Arizona State Standards: General Music, Kindergarten
-Anchor Standard #1 (a) “With appropriate guidance, explore, experience, and improvise musical concepts (e.g. beat and melodic contour).”
-Anchor Standard #4 (c) “With appropriate guidance, read and perform rhythmic and melodic patterns using notation (e.g. iconic notation).”

“I Can…” Statements:
-I can sing the Pumpkin Bear Poem.
-I can read the rhythm icons on the flash cards.
-I can follow the rhythms that the icons show on the flash cards.

Materials Needed:
-pumpkin bear
-poem
-4 flash cards

Procedure:

-get students into circle (sitting)
-listen for what colors the bear is dressed in
-sing the poem
-turn to your neighbors and whisper what colors the bear is wearing
-call on someone to answer (orange and green)
-pull out bear! =D
-let’s pat a beat on our laps (make sure to set the tempo)
-sing it and have them listen to it again this time but with keeping a steady beat in patting
-now keep this beat going, we are going to do some echoing
(throughout this part sing parts of them poem and have them echo to teach it, be very clear with when they should wait and when they should come in)
-little pumpkin bear
-dressed in orange and green
-little pumpkin bear dressed in orange and green
-wouldn’t you say he’s
-dressed for Halloween
-wouldn’t you say he’s dressed for Halloween
-little pumpkin bear dressed in orange and green wouldn’t you say he’s dressed for Halloween (whole thing)
-now that you know the whole thing let’s sing it together and keep a nice steady beat on our laps
-look at what I change
-sing it with doing the rhythm instead of the beat
-what did I do differently? Turn to your neighbors and talk about what I did differently that time
-discuss and come to that I patted differently and that my patting and stuff followed the words of the song, which means I was patting the rhythm of the song
-invite them to pat the rhythm with me now, just follow what I do
-do it together patting the rhythm, repeat for success if needed
-then bring out the flash cards
-hold up the four bears card and get to conclusion that it is bear-bear-bear-bear
-then bear-bear-pumpkin-bear
-pumpkin-bear-bear-bear
-pumpkin-pumpkin-bear-rest
-then flash the cards through and have them read the icons, and in essence, read the rhythms
-then try going through with doing the patting/clapping pattern we used earlier in the lesson (say and clap)
-then whisper it and clap
-then think and clap

Assessment: I will assess the class by observing them during the rhythm icons flash card reading to see if they are able to follow the rhythm that is notated through the icons on the flash cards. I will also assess them through having them whisper and discuss to their neighbors when finding answers to see if they are participating and understanding the material we are working on.
*Code for assessment:
-The student reads and performs the rhythms with great accuracy. à +
-The student has some difficulty with reading and performing the rhythms, at time being accurate and at other times not. à ~
-The student has difficulty reading and performing the rhythms and does not understand what the different symbols mean. à –
-The student is not participating and is unengaged. à n/a

Leave a Reply

