Song Teaching Video

Song Teaching Video

For my Art of Teaching Children Music class we had to teach a song through a video recording. I chose to teach the song “Blue Bird Through My Window”. Here’s the video: 

We then had to transcribe what we said in the video. Here is that transcription:

Teaching Video Transcription

Blue bird, blue bird, through my window, blue bird, blue bird, through my window, blue bird, blue bird, through my window, oh honey I am tired. Hello everyone. That song that I just sang for you is called “Blue Bird Through My Window”. Go ahead and listen to it again and see if you can tap the beat on your shoulders with me this time as I sing it. One, two, tap the beat. Blue bird, blue bird, through my window, blue bird, blue bird, through my window, blue bird, blue bird, through my window, oh honey I am tired. Very good job tapping the beat that time. So, let’s listen to the song again, and this time see if you can figure out what color the bird is that I am singing about in this song. One, two, what’s its color? Blue bird, blue bird, through my window, blue bird, blue bird, through my window, blue bird, blue bird, through my window, oh honey I am tired. Okay, what color is the bird that I am singing about? Do I hear blue? Very good job, it is a blue bird. Can we sing it again this time? And this time join me in singing on blue bird. One, two, blue bird, ready go. Blue bird, blue bird, through my window, blue bird, blue bird, through my window, blue bird, blue bird, through my window, oh honey I am tired. Very nice job singing that time. Let’s see if this time you can figure out what I am telling the blue bird. At the end of the song I tell the blue bird something. What is it that I tell them? Go ahead and listen to see if you can figure that out this time. Ready, what am I telling the blue bird? Blue bird, blue bird, through my window, blue bird, blue bird, through my window, blue bird, blue bird, through my window, oh honey I am tired. So what did I tell the blue bird that time? Hmmm? Go ahead and tell me. What did I tell the blue bird? That I am tired! Very good job. So, this time can you join me on both blue bird … on both blue bird, and on I am tired. And when you sing the part, “Oh honey I am tired” can you make your best sleepy face when you do that? Okay, can I see your sleepy face? Show me your sleepy face. Those are some pretty good sleepy faces, good job. So what are you joining me on? Blue bird, good job. And? Oh honey I am tired. Ready on blue bird here we go. Blue bird, blue bird, through my window, blue bird, blue bird, through my window, blue bird, blue bird, through my window, oh honey I am tired. Very good sleepy faces that time. That was excellent. Now, let’s go and listen to it again, and see if you can figure out where the blue bird is. Where is the blue bird? Here we go. Blue bird, blue bird, through my window, blue bird, blue bird, through my window, blue bird, blue bird, through my window, oh honey I am tired. So where was the blue bird? Through my window, very good job. Okay, so this time go ahead and join me on through my window. So you’re going to join me on, blue bird, and then, oh honey I am tired, and through my window. Okay, so join me on those three parts. One, two, blue bird, ready sing. Blue bird, blue bird, through my window, blue bird, blue bird, through my window, blue bird, blue bird, through my window, oh honey I am tired. Do you realize that you just sang the entire song with me? That was so good! Can you do it again this time with the story showing on the screen like it did at the beginning? One, two, blue bird, ready sing. Blue bird, blue bird, through my window, blue bird, blue bird, through my window, blue bird, blue bird, through my window, oh honey I am tired.

Finally, we had to reflect on how we could use a video like this in our teaching. 

There are several different ways I could use videos like this in my teaching. I could post lessons like this on my teacher website so that my students could watch it either by themselves or with a guardian so they could remind themselves of a song and practice it. I could also make similar videos for elementary choir classes where I make a recording of me singing each individual part so that the students could practice with that at home to help them.

Leave a Reply

