Song Teaching Lesson & Reflection

Song Teaching Lesson and Reflection

In my Art of Teaching Children Music class we had to teach a lesson where we taught the class either a full children’s song or parts of one. In teaching this lesson we were focusing on the sequencing of teaching a song. We were supposed to have the students hear it many times through repetition and ask several guiding questions throughout. Following the lesson we had to reflect upon the experience of teaching.

Here’s my lesson plan for the assignment:

MUE 413 Lesson Plan- Song Teaching Lesson

Name: Adam Peterson

Date: 9-22-15

New Music Concept/Objective: The students will be able to accurately perform parts of a song in 6/8 through singing parts of the song “De Colores”.

“I Can…” Statements:
-I can sing in the meter 6/8.
-I can sing in Spanish.
-I can do movements that match the sections of the piece.

Materials Needed:
-guitar to accompany
-music for “De Colores” from book My Little Rooster and other Folk Songs, Singing Games & Play Parties by Jill Trinka
-phone to record

Procedure:
-get students in a circle and be part of the circle
-sing the song for them with accompaniment
-put down guitar, sing through having them listen again, but following my motions this time
-“does anybody here speak any Spanish and recognize some of the words in this song?”
-first line, how many times do I say the word “quiri”? (do this one twice because first one and weird timing)
-hold up on your fingers how many times I said it (5)
-quiri is the sound the rooster makes, and the beginning of the line “Canta el gallo” is Spanish for “the rooster sings”
-“we’re going to do the first line and this time join me on the ‘quiris’”
-then same process with second line, number of caras, 5, explain caras are hen sounds and “la gallina” is the hen, join in on caras
-same with third line, number of pios (count the last pi!), 5, explain the pios are sound the chick makes and that “los polluelos” are the chicks, join me on the pios
-whole song with motions, join me on the quiris, caras, and pios
-listen to the me do the last line and listen for what word I clap on
-add in clap and group clap at end
-“what word did I clap on? Turn to your neighbor and whisper to them what word you think I clapped on” (“mi”)
-now show me what I did after I clapped (outward motion), and explain this will be group clap in circle
-try group clap once
-“Let’s do the last half, do the motions, and what is it for this line? (snaps) Then add in the clap and group clap.”
-“Now let’s go through the whole thing! Remember to do the motions, and sing with me on the quiris, caras, and pios.”

Assessment: Throughout the lesson I will visually and aurally assess the students to see if they are able to keep a steady beat throughout the 6/8 song. I will also assess them through guiding questions and by listening in on their discussions with their neighbors throughout the lesson.

Here is the video of me teaching this lesson:

Finally, here is my reflection of the experience:

Song Teaching Lesson Reflection

Your Name: Adam Peterson

Lesson: Song Teaching Lesson

*Primary Criteria: Quality Musicianship and Quality Thinking

Musicianship (5 points): 5
-In tune, accurate pitch
-Accurate rhythm
-Appropriate tempo
-Phrasing
-Expression
Comments: I stayed in tune very well and I believe that I modeled good singing for the class. I also made sure to not go to fast. In practicing the lesson I realized that going too fast was one of my tendencies, so I made sure to be aware of that.

Leadership (5 points): 5
-Body language
-Facial expression
-Voice tone and volume
-Eye Contact
-Intensity (energy)
Comments: I made sure to maintain eye contact with the class throughout the lesson. I know that eye contact is a very important element for engagement, and so that is something I make sure to utilize. I also purposely used a more calm and relaxed tone of voice and pace for the lesson for two main reasons. First, the style of the song has a very relaxed feel to it, and second, I knew that hearing a fairly long song I a completely different language would be nerve-racking to the class, knowing they would have to learn this song. I felt that if I kept a calm and comforting tone and pace this would help combat that feeling of nervousness.

Preparation (5 points): 5
-Knowledge of music
-Knowledge of plan
-Written plan
-Instruments/equipment ready
-Recordings/charts/materials ready
Comments: I definitely knew my plan well. I made sure to have a strong understanding of my sequencing, and I got familiar enough with my plan to not have to look at it throughout the lesson. I also made sure to practice and really know the music very comfortably.

Facilitating the Music and Learning Experience (10 points): 8
-Motivation, capturing attention
-Sequencing of steps
-Verbal instructions
-Questioning
-Pace of lesson, flow, transitions
-Flexibility (ability to diagnose and adjust)
-Feedback to the learners
-Continuity/focus of lesson
-Assessment of learning
-Closure
Comments: I had a very strong understanding of my plan, and I had a good presence with the students, but I don’t think I sequenced my plan terribly well. There was a good of time when the class was not singing and not as actively engaged as I would have liked for them to be, and this had to do with the way I structured the lesson. That said, I do think I did a good job teaching the lesson I had, I just would have changed some elements of the plan.

Total Point: 23/25

*Reflection Component (10 points): What’s working well for you? For them? Listen to the quality of the learner’s singing. How are they doing? What do you notice? What needs help, if anything? What might you do if you taught this song again? At the end of your reflection, set a goal for yourself for your next teaching.

My Response: The learners maintain good singing throughout the lesson. They followed all of the instruction I gave them with ease. They understood when they were supposed to sing and how they were supposed to sing, and they also understood all of the motions that we put with the song. I think that I did do a good job teaching my plan, and actually as I went back and watched it the lesson went better than I remembered, so that is rather comforting. My thought behind this lesson was that, in the context of an actually elementary general music class, this would be the first of a series of lessons teaching this song. This is definitely a project song that would have to be worked on and taught over the time span of several classes. I think that the main change I could have made was choosing what to teach. I realized after the lesson that it would have been better if I had taught them only the first three lines with the quiris, caras, and pios. If I would have done this then I could have taught them the entire first three lines and they would have been engaged much more throughout the lesson. If I were to do this again I would keep the first half of the lesson the same more or less, except that I would have the students find the beat the first time they listened to it to better engaged them. Then I would tell them that today we were only going to learn the first part. Then after teaching them the quiris, caras, and pios, I would teach them to add in the beginnings of the lines. The goal I would like to set for myself for my next teaching would be to have the students more engaged throughout the lesson. I want them doing something throughout more than they were in this one.

Leave a Reply

