Folk Dance Lesson & Reflection

Folk Dance Lesson and Reflection 

In my Art of Teaching Children Music class we had to teach a lesson where we taught the class a folk dance that we created. In this lesson we were supposed to focus on how the students kept the beat, followed sequencing, and maintained their personal space throughout the folk dance. Following the lesson we had to reflect upon the experience of teaching.

Here’s my lesson plan for the assignment:

MUE 413 Lesson Plan- Movement/ Folk Dance

Name: Adam Peterson

Date: 9-8-15

Concept: Folk music has regular phrases and a strong and steady beat. Folk dances have repeated movements that generally outline the beats and phrases.

Skills:
-Listening to music and finding its beat
-Moving to the beat and the phrase
-Interacting with classmates/peers in folk dance
-Controlling personal movements and maintaining personal space while folk dancing

Objective (“I Can…”): “I can move to the beats and the phrases of music by doing a folk dance.”

Materials Needed: recording of “Just the Way You Are” by Bruno Mars, piano cover by Rak Mak; computer for sound; phone for recording; chart of movements

Procedure:
*Introduction:
-have students stand in circle
-turn on music and start tapping beat on your shoulders
-class imitates
-“Check to see if your neighbor is keeping a steady beat with the music.”
-turn of the music

*First Section:
-“repeat after me, my turn”
just say it: right-touch-right-touch-right-touch-right-touch
-have them repeat it and do this a couple times
-“now I am going to say the moves while doing them, don’t do them yet, just say them with me and watch as I do them”
do them and say them: right-touch-right-touch-right-touch-right-touch
-“now let’s do them all together while saying them”
do and say them with everyone: right-touch-right-touch-right-touch-right-touch

*Second Section:
-“repeat after me, my turn”
just say it: kick-in-kick-in-kick-in-kick-in
-have them repeat it (do his a couple times)
-“now my turn to say the moves and do them, say them with me, but wait to do them and watch as I do them”
do them and say them: kick-in-kick-in-kick-in-kick-in
-“now all together, doing and saying them”
do and say them with everyone: kick-in-kick-in-kick-in-kick-in

*First and Second Sections Together:
-“now we’re going to put it all together and say that much’ repeat after me”
just say it:
right-touch-right-touch-right-touch-right-touch
kick-in-kick-in-kick-in-kick-in
-“now all together, doing and saying them”
do and say them with everyone:
right-touch-right-touch-right-touch-right-touch
kick-in-kick-in-kick-in-kick-in

*Third Section:
-“repeat after me, my turn”
just say it: back-2-3-touch-forward-2-3-touch
-have them repeat it (do his a couple times)
-“now my turn to say the moves and do them, say them with me, but wait to do them and watch as I do them”
do them and say them: back-2-3-touch-forward-2-3-touch
-“now all together, doing and saying them”
do and say them with everyone: back-2-3-touch-forward-2-3-touch

*Fourth Section:
-“repeat after me, my turn”
just say it: spin-2-3-face-switch-2-3-face
-have them repeat it (do his a couple times)
-“now my turn to say the moves and do them, say them with me, but wait to do them and watch as I do them”
do them and say them: spin-2-3-face-switch-2-3-face
-“now all together, doing and saying them”
do and say them with everyone: spin-2-3-face-switch-2-3-face

*Third and Fourth Sections Together:
-“now we’re going to put the last half together, repeat after me”
just say it:
back-2-3-touch-forward-2-3-touch
spin-2-3-face-switch-2-3-face
-“now all together, doing and saying them”
do and say them with everyone:
back-2-3-touch-forward-2-3-touch
spin-2-3-face-switch-2-3-face

*Whole Thing:
-“I am going to do the whole thing while saying it and you say it with me, but wait to do the moves”
do them and say them: right-touch-right-touch-right-touch-right-touch
kick-in-kick-in-kick-in-kick-in
back-2-3-touch-forward-2-3-touch
spin-2-3-face-switch-2-3-face
-“now let’s try the whole thing together!”
– right-touch-right-touch-right-touch-right-touch
kick-in-kick-in-kick-in-kick-in
back-2-3-touch-forward-2-3-touch
spin-2-3-face-switch-2-3-face

*Whole Thing with Music:
-add music, do whole thing with saying moves still
-do whole thing while whispering the words of the movements
-say it in your head (doing moves to music, but now without words)

Assessment: I will formatively assess the students, checking to see if they can keep beat, remember the sequences of the dance, and maintain their personal space. I will watch to see if the students can keep a steady beat throughout the introduction activity and throughout the folk dance. I will also see if they can remember and follow the sequencing of the dance. Finally, I will observe to see if the students can maintain their personal space when doing the folk dance in the circle with their classmates.

 

Here is the video of me teaching this lesson:

Finally, here is my reflection of the experience:

Folk Dance Lesson Reflection

Your Name: Adam Peterson

Lesson: Movement/ Folk Dance Lesson

*Primary Criteria: Quality Musicianship and Quality Thinking

Musicianship (5 points): 5
-In tune, accurate pitch
-Accurate rhythm
-Appropriate tempo
-Phrasing
-Expression
Comments: I think that I did a good job being accurate with the beat in my lesson. I made sure to follow clear 8 beat phrases and I thought the expression I used in the movements throughout the lesson were appropriate.

Leadership (5 points): 5
-Body language
-Facial expression
-Voice tone and volume
-Eye Contact
-Intensity (energy)
Comments: I think that I had very clear body language, and I also think that I used god facial expressions. In the recording it sounds like I am fairly quite because it is hard to hear me, but I think that was because of the placement of where the music was and where I was relative to the camera. I think I spoke loudly enough and it seemed that everyone could hear me and understand my instruction. I also made sure to have good eye contact with the class throughout.

Preparation (5 points): 5
-Knowledge of music
-Knowledge of plan
-Written plan
-Instruments/equipment ready
-Recordings/charts/materials ready
Comments: I made sure to have a good understanding and preparation of all my materials. I knew the song and where I wanted to changes motions and what phrases. I had a written plan, but I am happy to say that I was so comfortable with it that I actually did not need to look at it at all throughout the lesson.

Facilitating the Music and Learning Experience (10 points): 9
-Motivation, capturing attention
-Sequencing of steps
-Verbal instructions
-Questioning
-Pace of lesson, flow, transitions
-Flexibility (ability to diagnose and adjust)
-Feedback to the learners
-Continuity/focus of lesson
-Assessment of learning
-Closure
-Effect
Comments: I think that this went very well. I think that I sequenced the lesson well, and I knew that we were on a time limit, so I made sure to adapt some elements of my lesson plan in order to get us moving along faster. The only thing I was a bit unsure of was my approach as a whole to teaching this lesson. I saw other approaches that were vastly different from mine, and I just wasn’t sure if mine was the most effective. I liked how I sequenced my lesson, it just really made me think about what other options I could have pursued and other approaches I could have taken to the lesson.

Total Point: 24/25

*Reflection Component (10 points): As you watch the video of yourself facilitating this experience, look and listen for how the learners are responding. How are they doing? What did you do to respond or adjust to the learners, if anything? Then think about your own words and actions. What worked? What didn’t work as well as you expected? Set one primary goal and one secondary goal for your next teaching experience.  Tell us anything else that is important to you, or that you think we should know.

My Response: The class seemed to respond quite well. I think that they were understanding my instruction pretty well. I do think that the spin in the dance may have thrown them off a little at first, but everyone seemed to catch on to it pretty well after a few times. I did adjust to the learners! I actually omitted some scaffolding steps of my lesson plan that I would have used for actual elementary-aged students because I saw that the class was catching on very quickly and so did not need some of these steps. I think that I was very clear with my instruction and how to present the steps of the dance. I was a bit surprised at that several times throughout the lesson the class had trouble with the words that went along with the motions. I think that may have had to do with the fact that we had to come up with all of our own words for movements in structuring our lessons. For my primary goal I would like to possibly add in more creative and exciting motions but keep the learning of these motions just as natural. For my secondary goal I would like to work on closure. I had intended to do more specific closure at the end of the lesson, but I accidentally forgot to do that this time.

Leave a Reply

